Knowledgebase: Sonian Archiving
Search Views Purge files
Posted by Rob Chidester on 02 July 2014 06:55 PM

Sonian

Please note that the following is only applicable to File Archiving users.
"Purge" is not applicable to emails (and their associated attachments).

OVERVIEW

Search views allow you to purge archived file data. Purging file data from the archive means that the selected files will be permanently deleted from the archive. The option of purging files is only available to users that have the Search Admin Plus role and signed up for File Archiving.

Before being able to perform any purge, "On Demand Purge" has first to be enabled at the OEM level, and it also has to be enabled by the Account Administrator (AO) under ACCOUNT in the Admin interface.

Search Admin Plus (SAPlus) can purge an entire search, a subset of search results (such as filtered or tagged search results), or an individual search result by applying a tag to this individual result.


PURGE LIMITATION

Please note that purge is only available for search results that only contains file data. If a user, with the SAPlus role, performs a search returning both email (and their associated attachments) and file results, he will not be able to purge files.

If files have been placed under legal hold in a Search A for any reason, and a user (with the SAPlus role) creates a Search B that includes some of the Search A files (that are under legal hold), purge will be automatically disable for Search B. 
        * Legal hold will overwrite any policy in place and will disable purge for the associated files.

 
PURGING

Follow these steps to perform a purge:

       1. Pick the desired file result set you want to purge:
                * Select an entire file search.
                * Select a subset of file results by applying tags (Saved, Reviewed, Starred, or Attention).
                * Select an individual file by applying a tag (Saved, Reviewed, Starred, or Attention).
       
        2.
When the desired files have been tagged, click on "Tagged Views", "Export My Results", or "Legal Hold" to access the Search Views page.

Screenshot - Search Results - Tagged Views

       
        3.
From the Search Views page, select the result set that needs to be purged.
       
        4.
Click on "Purge" to start the process.
       
        5. 
Select the checkbox to confirm that you want to permanently delete the selected files.
       
        6. Click on the Purge button to complete the process and send the purge request. An email notification will be sent to the Search Admin Plus to confirm the purge request. 

Screenshot - Search Views - Purge files

        7. A green confirmation message will pop up on the Search Views page to confirm that your purge is queued for processing.

Screenshot - Search Views - Purge confirmation

        8. The purge that the Search Admin Plus initiated will be displayed on the dashboard, under the PENDING PURGES section.

Screenshot - Search Dashboard - Pending Purges

  1. The Search Admin Plus will have confirmation that the files have been successfully purged by refreshing his browser, on the Search Dashboard page.

        10. If the message: "You have no more pending purge requests" appears, this means that the purge has been successfully completed. 

Screenshot - Search Dashboard - No Pending Purges

 



Attachments 
 
 search views purge files.docx (276.41 KB)

ERROR: This domain name does not match domain registered in the license key file (cms.orlinpilot.com), allowed domains: support.excelmicro.com,localhost, please change the product path to match the domain under Admin CP > Settings > General Settings
This product will not work properly unless untill that value is changed.

For more information please contact Kayako support at https://my.kayako.com